koszyk0 sztuk  
user Zaloguj
Back cover pokaż tył okładki

Wydawnictwo: Linn Records
Seria: Echo
Nr katalogowy: BKD 556
Nośnik: 1 CD
Data wydania: lipiec 2016
EAN: 691062055635
w magazynie
Nasze kategorie wyszukiwania

Epoka muzyczna: barok
Obszar (język): angielski
Rodzaj: fantazja

Jenkins: Six-Part Consorts

Linn Records - BKD 556
Nagrody i rekomendacje
Gramophone Awards
1. Fantasy 9 in d
2. In Nomine 1 in g
3. Fantasy 2 in c
4. Pavan in F
5. Fantasy 8 in a
6. Fantasy 4 in d
7. Fantasy 11 in g
8. Fantasy 3 in c
9. Fantasy 1 in c
10. In Nomine 2 in e
11. Fantasy 12 in a
12. Fantasy 5 in d
13. Fantasy 10 in e
14. Bell Pavan in a
15. Fantasy 6 in d
16. Fantasy 7 in a
The award-winning viol consort explores the sonorous beauty of John Jenkins; one of the most refined and accomplished composers of the seventeenth century.

Phantasm’s recordings of Jenkins’ music have been highly praised: Six-Part Consorts was named ‘Album of the Week’ in two national newspapers and Five-Part Consorts was a Finalist at the 2007 Gramophone Awards.

Despite an addiction to the densest counterpoint Jenkins achieves a remarkable clarity of expression; like Lawes and Dowland, Jenkins is a consummate consort writer, his music echoing his evident enjoyment of companiable music-making.

‘There isn't a dull moment’ comments director Laurence Dreyfus; ‘the wide-ranging treble parts constantly vie for ascendancy, the fervent tenors compete in companionable rivalry, and even the usually lethargic basses engage in surprisingly athletic jumps and lithe leaps.’

Phantasm is joined for this recording by Emilia Benjamin and Mikko Perkola.

Originally released on Avie in 2009, Jenkins: Six-Part Consorts has been re-issued as part of Linn’s ECHO series which offers a second chance to enjoy the best recordings from Linn artist

Phantasm has been widely acclaimed for its previous recordings: its 2015 recording of Lawes was named Limelight’s ‘Chamber Recording of the Year’, its 2011 recording of Byrd was named ‘Disc of the Month’ by BBC Music, and it won a 2004 Gramophone Award for its recording of Viol Consorts by Gibbons.

Critics have described the ensemble and its recordings as ‘intoxicating’, ‘revelatory’, ‘electrifying’ and ‘interpretations pervaded by a truly burning spirit’.

The award-winning ensemble has been applauded across the globe for its moving performances and is recognised as the most exciting viol consort active on the world scene today.

Phantasm’s international members (from Britain, Finland and the US) have toured extensively across Europe, North America and East Asia

Zobacz także:

  • BKD 366
  • BKD 557
  • MF 8030
  • SIGCD 528
  • PTC 5186815
  • KGS 0032
  • CHR 77431
  • B 656
  • CHAN 20113
  • ACD 22766